top of page

Igudesman’s Carnival of Funny Animals

Aleksey Igudesman brings a playful twist to Saint-Saëns' Carnival of the Animals, while injecting his own creativity with 10 newly composed “Funny Animals”.


Format: Solo + Orchestra

Conductor & Soloist: Aleksey Igudesman

Orchestra: Youth Symphonyorchestra


Igudesman's unique new symphonic arrangement of the beloved classic “Carnival of the Animals” takes listeners on a captivating odyssey through the wondrous realm of orchestral instruments. Accompanying this musical journey is Igudesman's delightful and cleverly crafted poetry, skillfully drawing parallels between the animal kingdom and the realm of musicians.


The other half of the program unveils Igudesman‘s extraordinary ten-movement suite, aptly titled “Funny Animals,” which showcases a collection of hilariously strange yet very real animals. Each one embodies a unique charm and originality, from the enchanting “aye-aye” to the comical “panda ant” and the cute “pink fairy armadillo”. These creatures come to life through Igudesman‘s music, complemented by original texts written by the multi-talented German harp player and author Magdalena Hofmann.


To the delight and amusement of both players and the audience, Igudesman has seamlessly incorporated theatrical instructions into the symphony orchestra’s performance. Violins gracefully traverse the stage, clarinets adopt peculiar head movements, and, at times, musicians even rise to stand on their chairs – all contributing to a visual and auditory spectacle of unparalleled grandeur. 


This extraordinary fusion of music and theater captivates listeners of all ages. Aleksey Igudesman’s new symphonic interpretation of the “Carnival of the Animals,” accompanied by his humorous suite “Funny Animals,” unifies music, poetry, and theater into an unforgettable artistic experience.


“Funny Animals” 

for Speaker and Symphony Orchestra by Aleksey Igudesman

Text by Magdalena Hofmann

“Igudesman’s Carnival of the Animals” 

for Speaker and for Symphony Orchestra by Camille Saint-Saëns/Aleksey Igudesman

Text by Magdalena Hofmann

bottom of page